Skip to main content

Prospective immigrants who wish to settle in Canada can choose from one of the many immigration options offered by Immigration, Refugees, and Citizenship Canada (IRCC). Each program varies based on its requirements. Some programs help immigrants settle in a particular province, while others offer permanent residence based on work experience or investment.

One of the most popular programs for Canada immigration is the Federal Skilled Worker Program. This guide will discuss the requirements for this program and the ways applicants can use it to obtain permanent resident status in Canada.

What is the Federal Skilled Worker Program?

The Federal Skilled Worker Program was initially launched in 1967 and remained the most popular immigration program for prospective immigrants. This program is one of the three programs within Canada’s Express Entry system and offers a way to achieve permanent resident status based on experience and skills.

This program is best suited for individuals from highly skilled occupations classified under the National Occupation Code (NOC).

Federal Skilled Worker Program Requirements

The Federal Skilled Worker Program uses six selection factors to assess applicants. Each factor provides a certain number of points. Applicants will need 67 out of 100 points to qualify for the Federal Skilled Worker Program.

The selection factors are:

  • Language Skills
  • Education
  • Work experience
  • Age
  • Job Offer
  • Adaptability

Let’s go through each factor and determine how you can maximize your points.

1. Language Skills

Applicants must possess good English or French language skills to receive an adequate number of points in their Federal Skilled Worker Program application. IRCC requires applicants to prove their language skills by taking an approved language test. For English, this test is the Canadian Language Benchmarks (CLB) test. Applicants who are more fluent in French than English can take the Niveaux de comp├ętence linguistique canadiens (NCLC). Each of these tests is subdivided into four distinct sections:

  • Writing
  • Reading
  • Listening
  • Speaking

Applicants’ scores in each section will determine which benchmark they fall into according to the following table.

Speaking Listening Reading Writing
CLB Level 9 or higher 6 6 6 6
CLB Level 8 5 5 5 5
CLB Level 7 4 4 4 4
Lower than CLB level 7 Does not qualify Does not qualify Does not qualify Does not qualify

If English or French is your first language, you will need to score benchmark CLB Level 7 or higher to receive points. It is possible to get a score of up to 24 points on your language test. Applicants can also score up to an additional 4 points if their second language qualifies as CLB Level 5 or higher.

2. Education

The Federal Skilled Worker favours applicants with secondary or post-secondary education. This requires:

  • A certification, degree or diploma from a secondary or post-secondary education institution in Canada.
  • Educational Credential Assessment (ECA) issued by a foreign secondary or post-secondary education institution.

The number of points from each type of qualification is shown below:

  • Doctorate degree, Ph.D. or Professional Degree: 23 to 25 points
  • Master’s Degree: 23 points
  • Bachelor’s Degree: 19 to 23 points
  • Post-secondary certificate or Diploma: 15 to 21 points
  • Educational Certificates: 15 to 23 points
  • High School Diploma or Certificate: 5 points

Applicants can score up to 25 points in this category if they possess the right education.

3. Work Experience

Applicants can also use their work experience to earn points. Those who have worked full-time jobs (defined as 30 hours per week) in Canada or abroad can earn points if the job:

  • Belonged to the NOC skill level 0, A, or B
  • Was performed while studying.
  • Was performed while also self-employed.

The points granted for work experience are as follows:

Experience Points
1 year 9
2 to 3 years 11
4 to 5 years 13
6 or more years 15

4. Age

The Federal Skilled Worker class generally favours applicants who are younger in age. The number of points granted to each age is as follows.

Age Points
Under 18 0
18 – 35 12
36 11
37 10
38 9
39 8
40 7
41 6
42 5
43 4
44 3
45 2
46 1
47 or older 0

5. Job Offer

Applicants can receive a maximum of 10 points if they have a full-time job offer for a one-year or longer position in duration. This work experience will need to be a full-time and non-seasonal position. It must also qualify under NOC skill level 0, A, or B.

In addition to this, applicants must demonstrate that they are qualified and capable of performing the job’s duties.

6. Adaptability

IRCC grants extra points to applicants who can demonstrate their eagerness to settle in Canada. You can get 5 points for each of the following requirements to earn a maximum of 10 additional points.

  • Having a spouse or partner with language skills of CLB level 4 or higher
  • Completing a minimum of two secondary or post-secondary academic programs inside Canada. Each program must be full-time.
  • Having a spouse or partner who has completed a minimum of two secondary or post-secondary academic programs inside Canada. Each program must be full-time
  • Having a minimum of 1-year work experience in a full-time position at NOC skill level 0, A, or B within Canada.
  • Having a spouse or partner who has a minimum of 1-year work experience in a full-time position at NOC skill level 0, A, or B within Canada.
  • Having arranged employment within Canada at the time of applying.
  • Having relatives who are citizens or permanent residents and are older than 18 residing inside Canada.

Optimizing Your Federal Skilled Worker Class Application

Prospective immigrants applying through the Federal Skilled Worker Program can optimize their application and discover ways to maximize their points with Elaar Immigration Consulting’s assistance. Together, we can make your dream of settling in Canada a reality. Please get in touch with Elaar Immigration Consulting to get started today.

Leave a Reply